Purpose By Design

Not Your Typical Nursing Student Blog

Merry Christmas December 24, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — txtee @ 9:40 pm

Okay, I know it has been a minute since I have updated my blog.  It’s been crazy to say the least.  House updates from Ike, end of the fall semester (woohoo, I got a B in Chemistry), winter break for the itty bitty committee, Christmas shopping, and trying to complete stuff for nursing school. 

Instead of me getting back the beautiful card that I hoped to receive the BON, I got back a letter saying that I needed to complete a Declaratory Petition for something that is not on my record but that they can see on my DPS record… even though it’s dismissed and closed.  This was disheartening to say the least.  When we had our first orientation, our program director mentioned the Declaratory Order but to tell the truth, I really did not pay attention because I just knew it had nothing to do with me.  Now I’m scared out of my mind that this will be some kind of bump in the road for me.   My goal is to stay positive through this, mail what they are asking, explain myself and hopefully it will be cleared up soon.  I have came to far to let something like this stop me now, there ain’t no stopping me. 

Why come no one told me the amount of money that I had to shell out just to get the required stuff done for nursing school.  The physical, shots, uniforms, supplies, books, more supplies… I mean I know there was cost involved but goodness, I had no idea.  I’m not complaining.  Some day I will look back on all of this and laugh.  That’s what I’m telling myself anyway. 

It is Christmas Eve and to tell the truth I’m not in a Christmas mood like I usually am this time of year.  Christmas was my mom’s favorite holiday, I mean she went all out for her grandkids every year, maybe that’s where I get that from, hehehe.  I was sitting on the couch today looking in the kitchen and I had a flashback to the Christmas before last (2006) when she was standing with me in the kitchen showing me how to make cornbread dressing.  Tears came to my eyes, just as they are now, because I miss her sooooo much.  I made dressing by myself this year and I think it came out good, she would be proud…. Usually my sister and my nieces and nephew come over but they aren’t doing that either, that could be another reason why I’m down.  I look at my children and cheer up because I don’t want them to remember me being down on Christmas of all days.  Every Christmas she used to get sloppy drunk and play Christmas songs, this one was her favorite:

I play that for you momma, I miss you dearly and will love you always!  If I don’t get a chance to get back on here tomorrow, Merry Christmas every one.

 

Leave a Reply

