Purpose By Design

Not Your Typical Nursing Student Blog

A Little Background On Me November 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — txtee @ 6:53 am

To say this has been a long time coming is not enough. I have been taking pre-requistes for nursing school since 2001, on and off, part time and full time class loads while working a full time job, being a mother and a wife. At times I doubted myself because I let everyone tell me that I could not work and attend nursing school so I listened more times than a few and started pursuing other degrees. Everytime I started on other degrees with the exception of teaching because I like to teach, I could not see myself doing that job for the rest of my life. I wanted a career and I wanted to be a nurse as I believe that I am destined to be.

I grabbed my boot straps and started researching other nursing schools in my area other than the main nursing school that has an evening program. To my surprise, I found one. I researched the school for almost a year, gathering information from all sources that I could. I prayed over it and took two of my classes that I had previously made C’s in to hopefully get A’s. Guess what, I got A’s in both classes. That achievement pressed me to go ahead and start studying for the entrance exam. In July 2008 I went and took the entrance exam and did really well. I called and told one of my good friends my score immediately after leaving the exam and my husband. I told no one else. I made up my mind at that point that I was going to apply to that one and only school so I did. I know that you are not supposed to put all of your eggs in one basket but I am walking on faith that this is in deed my time.

We are supposed to find out our results at the end of October or early November. I am beyond anxious but know if this is for me, it will happen. Like any other student awaiting an acceptance letter into their program of choice I don’t want to know in two more weeks, I want to know like yesterday, lol. So I sit and wait. Hopefully (crossing every bone in my body) I will be able to post some news yay or nay in another two weeks.

 

2 Responses to “A Little Background On Me”

  1. LaWanda Turner Says:

    WONDERFUL

    I to am walking in your shoes. I have started and stopped school since 1998. Now for instance I am taking Algebra. I was focused in the beginning because this is a hard class for me. Guess what Ike came rocked my world. We are still not back at home, I have totally lost focus. So KODOS to you, I wish you well. I hope you get good news soon. Keep me posted. How is that handsome son of yours?

  2. LaWanda Turner Says:

    What school did you get into that has an evening program?


Leave a Reply

